Why have all the roads and cities in Georgia disappeared from Google Maps and Google Earth?

Someone named pluke over at Reddit just made the very astute observation that all roads and cities in the country of Georgia have disappeared from Google Maps.  When I fire up Google Earth, sure enough, there are no roads and no cities.  The same is true for Armenia and Azerbaijan.

Let the wild speculation begin.

14 responses to “Why have all the roads and cities in Georgia disappeared from Google Maps and Google Earth?

  1. Pingback: Crisis Mapping the Conflict in Georgia (Updated) « iRevolution

  2. Thanks for the heads up on this, Jon, just forwarded your post to a colleague at CNN, may go on air soon.

  3. I just heard from a colleague at Google that they never existed in the first place–Google never had a roads layer for Georgia.

    A retroactive conspiracy? We may never know.

  4. Jon, according to a colleague at Google, they never had a roads layer for Georgia. “They didn’t disappear, they were just never there.”

  5. Pingback: Google never posted map data for Georgia. Will they? « Aid Worker Daily

  6. Pingback: Missing Georgia data sets explained by Google Maps/Earth team « Aid Worker Daily

  7. I know for a fact that your info is wrong. Ive been observing this situation since it has started and the roads info stopped showing up monday. I was specifically following the roads on google earth as it played out.

  8. Jon – I can’t make statements like the “information was pulled”. I dont know what happened, when all this was happening I checked it on google earth and yes, I did check out the roads. They have not been available since monday for me. Pulled or other reason I dont know. I know I am not the only one that has been observing this. Phil

  9. Pingback: Some data now available for Georgia in Google Earth « Aid Worker Daily

  10. I also saw the Georgia roads on Google when fighting broke out and then they disappeared.

    I know what I saw. I wanted to find out where South Ossetia was, etc. When I looked it was like a separate country. Now you have to do a search to find it and it is within the Georgia boundaries.

  11. same here. i looked at south ossetia last week on google maps. was looking at the major cities after reading the news stories. now its all gone. google says it was never there, they are lying.

  12. Pingback: New data for Georgia in Google Earth « Aid Worker Daily

Leave a Reply

