MozyPro Update

I pitched MozyPro a few posts back as a viable back-up tool for field workers.  Everything was running smoothly until I closed the account it was charging to and opened a new one.  That is when the trouble began.  Every time I called the (877)MozyPro I actually received an “All circuits are busy” recording.  (I don’t think I have heard that recording in quite a while.)  Rather than flip me into a loop they just stopped me cold.  I finally wrote tech support and a very nice guy named Josh called back.  However, he could not help me with billing as he was on the wrong side of the office…

To make a long story short MozyPro fails on the customer service side and if you are stuck in the bush making satellite phone calls to a overloaded number you are going to lose patience a lot faster than I did.  Great software, lousy execution.

UPDATE: Mozy got back to me with an apology.  Take a look at the comments.

2 responses to “MozyPro Update

  1. I apologize for the experience you had. It seems you hit us during an infrequent period when either our call center or an international telecoms provider was experiencing a problem. The issue was resolved quickly and the phones are working again. If you ever need help again, please contact me directly on devin@mozy.com.

  2. When restoring, Mozy Pro Can take 24 hours (or more, as I sit waiting at hour 30) on a weekend (weekdays would take longer) to simply GATHER the files that you need to download before you can even start to download them. (50k files or a VERY SMALL server) This makes it worthless for Dr.s lawyers, dentist, hotels,… or anyone who needs their data restored rapidly.

    Further, I have been on the phone waiting simply for someone to answer the phone for over an hour so far with no response. I think that was a good assessment: Good idea, poor execution!!

Leave a Reply

